The DAISY Consortium and its dedicated staff is very proud to have received the following awards and recognition:


Horizon Award  —presented to the DAISY Consortium by the American Printing House for the Blind for continually pursuing new ideas that result in the development of innovative products designed to improve the quality of life for people who are blind and visually impaired.


Innovation in Publishing Award —presented to the DAISY team for the WordToEPUB tool by the Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers.


Digital Book World 2019 Outstanding Achievement Award—presented to the DAISY team for their work on the Ace by DAISY EPUB accessibility checking tool.


CNIB Century of Change Award—CNIB centenary celebrations in 2018 were marked by these awards applauding organizations and individuals who have effected change and made an “inspiring impact in the lives of people with sight loss…”

Dr Isabelle Grant Award—presented to George Kerscher for this contribution to the field of blindness. In his acceptance remarks George said, “The availability of Born Accessible mainstream books and the integration of services provided by libraries serving the blind and print disabled people around the world means that people with disabilities will be able to fully participate in education and society. Dr. Isabelle Grant would be proud of all this work, as I am.”


BISG Industry Champion Award—awarded to George Kerscher. This award honors an individual whose efforts have gone beyond the requirements of his or her position to advance the publishing industry while embracing BISG’s mission to facilitate innovation and shared solutions for the benefit of all companies and practitioners who create, produce, and distribute published content.


White House Champion of Change—George Kerscher was one of fourteen individuals honored at the White House as Champions of Change for leading the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math for people with disabilities.


Dr Roland Wagner Award—awarded to George Kerscher for his tireless efforts to ensure equal access to information by people with print disabilities.


Harry Murphy Catalyst Award—presented to George Kerscher. This biennial award is presented by the Trace Center to honor those who bring people together and facilitate the efforts of others in the field of technology and disability.


Dayton Forman Award—presented to Ingar Beckman Hirschfeldt and George Kerscher. “These two individuals, coming together from two different organizations on two different continents, have shown outstanding leadership in the development of the next generation of talking books, called DAISY (Digital Accessible Information SYstem).”